Town Board

The Goshen Town Board, established in accord with Article 3 of the Town Law of the State of New York, is a five-member elective body, headed by the Supervisor who serves as the Chief Executive Officer and four (4) elected Council Members, who together are the legislative, policy, budget-making and appointive authority of Town Government. The Supervisor serves a two-year term and Council members serve four-year, staggered terms of office.

The legislative authority of the town rests in the town board, which is the governing board of the town. The Town Board, among other functions, generally fills vacancies in town offices, elective or appointive; may select a town attorney and a town engineer; appoints constables or police officers; and provides for the hiring of other employees as necessary for the conduct of the town’s business.

The Town Board adopts a budget, fixes the salaries of officers and employees, establishes rules of board procedure and designates the official newspaper of the town.

Most of the functions of the Town Board are set forth in the Town Law. However, some functions are set forth in other statutes such as the General Municipal Law, the Highway Law, the Agriculture and Markets Law, and the Not-for-Profit Corporation Law. In addition, Town Boards may adopt local laws pursuant to the home rule powers granted by Article 9 of the State Constitution and the Municipal Home Rule Law.

Meeting Dates/Time

Town Board Meetings are held at 7:30pm at Town Hall, a listing of upcoming meetings can be found below. All meetings are subject to change, so please check the calendar for schedule changes.

Upcoming Meetings

Town Supervisor

Joseph Betro

Town Board

Douglas Bloomfield
Philip Canterino
Richard Florio
George Lyons

Town Attorney

Rory Brady, Esq.


41 Webster Avenue
Goshen, NY 10924